top of page

Our Recent Posts

Tags

No tags yet.

From the Heartland to the Tropics (an introduction)

I wanted to write a short introductory blog to better introduce myself to those who are new here, or perhaps haven’t really been able to get to know me. I’m so thankful for all the support and I look forward to the fun we'll have and the things we will learn as I share the adventures God has for me.

My name is Emily Puckett. And as you probably have already noticed from the "About Me" section, I live in Panama. I think life is an adventure and like all good adventures, sometimes there is danger and the unknown, but also learning, joy, and change. I think change marks the life of an individual and when used for good, leads to a fulfilling life. I’ve had quite a lot of change in my young life, but for a start I’ll briefly share how I ended up here in Panama.

For a bit of context, I’ve always been curious, observant, barefooted and not afraid to get dirty. I’ve also been keen on language and culture since I was little. And as I think about it, a truth seeker. I believe the fear of the Lord is the beginning of knowledge. As a child, I grew up in a Christian home where it wasn’t uncommon on a random Sunday to have a missionary come and share about what they do and what life is like for them. At first it seemed like real life dreams playing out, living in a far off land, speaking a language different than your own, sharing a life saving message with a people group that don’t believe what you do. I come from the middle of the United States...the heartland. I’d overheard people with different accents at the grocery store, but at the end of the day I went back to a home that was uni-cultural. As a family, my parents had taken us (me and my two other siblings) on road trips across the States, but never “outside”. It seemed something too big, to far away to achieve. But I sure did like the idea.

Well, when I turned a whopping 16 years of age, a friend of mine in her 20’s invited me to go along with her to Panama to visit and stay with a missionary family for three weeks. I first asked my Dad permission to go, to which he said was fine, but Mom needed to approve as well. Lets just say saving for the ticket was easier than convincing dear Mother:) After many conversations with Mom, and a lot of prayer...she said yes! And that started my love for missions, other countries, people, and languages! When I got back I would save and go on two more trips to Panama before I would come to the conclusion of what I wanted to do with my life. God confirmed it in my heart through various circumstances that this was my life calling, missions. I didn’t know all the answers. I didn’t know all that would come from it, but I simply said yes. And since then I have moved to Panama and even participated in missions trips that have taken me across the globe.

On this page I’ll be sharing cultural experiences both past and present. I will share travel stories and personal tips on what I do when planning or participating in a mission or trip. On this blog we’ll talk about language learning, food, missions, encouragements, culture shock, homesickness, adapting, and so much more…

I look forward to getting to know all of you as well and feel free to leave a comment below or drop me a message. If there is anything you have interest in or any questions at all, just ask away!

Yours truly,

Emily

bottom of page